President Election 2022: Date, Candidates, expected President & all you Need to know

President Election in India 2022 Date and Candidates

As the tenure of President Ram Nath Kovind comes to an end on July 24, 2022, an election to fill the position of the 16thPresident of India will be held on July 18. The polls will witness 4,809 electors, including MPs and MLAs, voting to elect President Kovind’s successor.

How is a President Elected?

The members of the Electoral College, which consists of elected members of both Houses of Parliament as well as elected representatives from all of the States, including the National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Union Territory of Puducherry, elect the President.

However, the nominated candidates for the Rajya Sabha, Lok Sabha, or state legislative assemblies are ineligible to be included in the Electoral College and are consequently ineligible to vote. In the same vein, legislative council members are not eligible to vote in the presidential election.

Candidates for President election 2022

On June 15, after the Election Commission of India issued a notification asking voters to fill the vacancy, the procedure for submitting nominations for the presidential elections began.

The results of the presidential election will be announced on July 21.

PC Mody, the secretary-general of the Rajya Sabha and the returning officer chosen by the Election Commission for the elections, received 11 nominations on the first day. According to a media report, one of these nominations was denied because it lacked the necessary paperwork.

The list of the candidates who submitted their names for the Presidential elections:

  1.  K Padmarajan (Tamil Nadu)
  2. Jeevan Kumar Mittal (Delhi)
  3. Mohammad A Hamid Patel (Maharashtra)
  4. Sairo Bano Mohammad Patel (Maharashtra)
  5. T Ramesh (Namakkal)
  6. Shyam Nandan Prasad (Bihar)
  7. Daya Shankar Agrawal (Delhi)
  8. Om Prakash Kharbanda (Delhi)
  9. Lalu Prasad Yadav (Bihar)
  10.  A Manithan (Tamil Nadu)
  11.  Mandati Tirupathi Reddy (Andhra Pradesh)
  12.  Draupadi Murmu (Odisha)
  13.  Yashwant Sinha (Bihar)

Who is expected to win the President’s election?

Draupadi Murmu is expected to be the 16th President but Yashwant Sinha gives her a tough competition at the polls.

Former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha has been selected by the opposition as India’s future president. On the other hand, the BJP-led NDA selected Draupadi Murmu, a tribal leader from Odisha and a former governor of Jharkhand, as their next presidential contender.

Murmu has dedicated her life to serving society, according to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who is confident that she will be a”wonderful President.”

The tweet by the Prime Minister can be an indication that the result would be in favour of Draupadi Murmu.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


To Top