Presidential Election 2022 Result Date: It’s Draupadi Murmu vs Yashwant Sinha

Presidential Election 2022 Result

India’s current President Ram Nath Kovind who took the office of President on July 24, 2017 is soon to complete his 3 year tenure which started on July 25, 2017, so the Indian lawmakers have cast their votes today on July 18, 2022 to elect the 16th President of the Republic of India.

The monsoon session of the parliament also started today with election of a new President as well as vice-president, who will be the ex-officio chairman of the Parliament’s Upper House, Rajya Sabha.  The season also witness chaos as due to protest and slogans by opposition MPs over price rise and inflation.

Presidential Candidates

The Presidential battle is between National Democratic Alliance (NDA)’s presidential candidate Draupadi Murmu and Yashwant Sinha, a former BJP leader who left the BJP in 2018 and joined All India Trinamool Congress in March 2021; however, left the party in June as he was elected the presidential candidate by the Combined Opposition Parties.

Sina was chosen opposition’s presidential candidate after senior leaders Sharad Pawar, Farooq Abdullah and the Father of Nation Mahatma Gandhi’s Grandson Gopalkrishna Gandhi refused to run for the post. Sinha on Saturday, July 16, 2022 also urged BJP leaders to vote for him.

PM, Opposition Cast Votes

The voting for the next President of the country held today across India with more than 4000 Members of Parliament (MPs) and Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) participated in it.

The polling was held at the parliament and in all state assemblies from 10 am to 5 pm. PM Narendra Modi, former PM Manmohan Singh and Congress Chief Sonia Gandhi cast their votes at the Parliament in Delhi.

On the other hand, several chief ministers including West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee, Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal, UP CM Yogi Adityanath, Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik, Tamil Nadu CM M.K. Stalin and Gujarat CM Bhupendra Patel cast their votes at their respective state assemblies.

Presidential Elections 2022 Result Date

The counting of the votes will be be held in the Parliament House on July 21, 2022 and the 15th President of the Republic of India will take oath on July 25, 2022 to took the charge of the President’s office for the next 5 years.

Who is Going to Win??

Well the result day will reveal who is going to be the new President of India but NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu has a clear edge over Sinha as 60% of total vote are expected to be polled in her favour.

Murmu received the support from BJD, YSRCP, BSP, AIADMK, Shiv Sena, Shiromani Akali Dal, TDP, JD(S) and JMM. If she win, she will become the first woman from the tribal community to hold the post of the President of India.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


To Top