Google is taking a big step by deleting the Gmail accounts of some users. Google’s new policy states that from December 1, 2023, to December 2023 few Gmail users won’t be able to access their Gmail accounts.
Google will be deleting the Gmail accounts that have not been used for two years. Those Gmail accounts that have been made or formed but have not been logged in for more than two years are in danger and can be permanently removed.
Google also stated that with the deletion of the account, the data and content within the account will also be deleted. Data including Google Workspace, Gmail, Docs, Google Photos, Calendar, Meet, Drive, and Calendar will be permanently removed.
How to save your Gmail account?
After the news of the Gmail account deletion, users are worried if the three accounts are safe or not. So here’s the answer to it: Google is sending multiple reminders, notifications, and recovery emails to users whose accounts are in danger.
To be considered active on Gmail, users need to sign into their Gmail accounts once every two years. So if you are using your Gmail, photos, documents, and calendar regularly, then your account is safe.
And if you want to save any of your accounts that have been inactive, then you can simply log in to your unused Gmail account.
Why is Google deleting Gmail accounts?
The main reason behind deleting Gmail accounts is to reduce the risk of being targeted by fraudsters, hackers, and scammers. Inactive accounts are the easy catch, as they are ten times less likely to have two-step verification set up than active accounts.
Google stated that inactive or forgotten Google accounts often rely on old or reused passwords that may have been compromised, as they have fewer security checks and don’t have a two-factor authentication set.