Life Style

Navratri 2022: The Nine Colors, Significance, Meaning & More

Navratri 2021 Nine Colors & Significance

Happy Navratri 2022: The festival of Navratri is all about colors but do you know the significance of those nine colors that we wear during this auspicious occasion?

Women engage in wearing nine different colored sarees or dresses that are a symbol of the nine forms of Goddess Durga. With Navratri about to start from September 26, people especially women have started preparing for the occasion.

It is believed that the nine colors symbolize the nine ‘gunas’ of Goddess Durga and in order to achieve peace and tranquility, women wear these nine colors during this festive season.

Different colors symbolize the different days of Navratri, so here we have a list of those nine colors and their significance.

This tradition is followed especially in the states of Maharashtra and Gujarat with much grandeur. From keeping fast to wearing the colors of Navratri, this day is very auspicious in the Hindu calendar. Women follow this tradition with much enthusiasm and follow the nine-day color scheme.


Happy Dussehra 2022 Date, History & Significance

 Significance of the 9 colours of Navratri

  • Yellow: The first day of Navratri is the principal manifestation of Devi – Shailaputri – the little girl of the mountains. She is the outright type of Mother Nature and represents strength. Yellow is the shade of splendor, satisfaction, and cheer.
  • Green: The second day of Navratri is the second manifestation of Goddess Durga – Brahmacharani – the female looking for worldly knowledge. In this structure, Goddess Durga or Parvati goes to the verdant mountains to do retribution. This is where she meets Lord Shiva. She goes along with him here in austerity. Henceforth, green tone represents development, nature, and energy.
  • Grey: The third manifestation of Devi is Chandraghanta, where she wears a grey shaded half-moon on her forehead. The color grey additionally represents her state of mind, at any point prepared to battle to annihilate the adversaries of her devotees.
  • Orange: The fourth manifestation of Goddess Durga is Kushmanda. The radiance and splendor of this Devi, with her entrancing grin, light up the sun. She is mighty enough to live in the Sun. Henceforth, orange represents her joy and energy.
  • White: The fifth manifestation of Devi is Skandamata – mother of Skanda or Kartikeya, the conflict God. The Devi holding her child in her lap is an image of the immaculateness of a mother’s affection. It additionally represents harmony, immaculateness, and supplication in her devotees’ souls when they love her. Henceforth, white is the color.
  • Red: The 6th manifestation of Devi is Katyayani. She is a ferocious Goddess Durga accepted to be framed out of the annoyance of the Gods. In this manner, red is related to her. Red likewise represents activity and power.
  • Royal Blue: The seventh manifestation of Devi is Kaalratri. She is the Goddess of destruction and is likewise called Kali. Her incredible energy is exemplified in blue.
  • Pink: The eighth manifestation of Devi is Mahagauri. She is the fulfiller of all longings. Pink represents expectation and newness of viewpoint.
  • Purple: The 10th manifestation of Devi is Siddhidatri. She is the provider of knowledge and assists you with accomplishing your desires. Consequently, purple addresses aspiration and force.

Hope you all will adorn the same colors during this festival and bring some positivity and calmness to your lives, which is very much needed during these difficult times.

This year the festival is going to be celebrated with many restrictions due to the pandemic Covid-19, but it is still expected to be celebrated on a larger scale than the previous year since, this time the Government has allowed festive gatherings at residential complexes with a total headcount of not more than 400 people.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


To Top