BS Yeddyurappa takes oath as Karnataka CM, will prove majority on July 29

Komal Sinha
3 Min Read
BS Yeddyurappa will take oath as Karnataka CM at 6 pm today

With rounds of hustle in the Karnataka politics, BJP has finally succeeded in staking claim to form it’s government here. The frontrunner to replace H.D. Kumaraswamy B.S. Yeddyurappa takes oath as the chief minister today.

BS Yeddyurappa President of BJP party in Karnataka had been seen busy meeting the governor and the state legislators drawing up the next course of action to take oath as CM in Karnataka.

He was waiting for the green signal of BJP, and once he got the approval from the party, he met the state Governor on Friday and requested him to hold the oath ceremony today itself.

He has also submitted a letter to the Governor in order to stake claim to form his government in the state.

After the fall of the Congress JD(S) coalition government in Karnataka, it was already assumed that BJP would stake its claim to form its a party.

At present BJP MLA’s strength is 105 and it stands as the single largest party in the assembly. Yeddyurappa first took charge as the CM of Karnataka in 2007 but could only hold the post for seven days as JD(S) withdrew its support, and the President rule was imposed at that time in the state.

He again paved the way to get a coveted post in 2008 but failed to complete his full term due to corruption charges. He further had to resign following accusations of corruption during his second term.

In 2012 he formed a new party “Karnataka Praja Paksha”. Later he rejoined BJP before the Lok Sabha election in 2014.

Just after the defeat of the Congress-JD(S) coalition party in the trust vote he resigned. The Governor accepted his resignation and asked him to serve as caretaker Chief Minister.

Kumaraswamy got 99 votes in the confidence motion against 105 of the opposition leading to its defeat. Let’s see what new changes BS Yeddyurappa will bring in Karnataka after taking the oath as the CM today.

Share this Article
A young budding writer with vivid colors of imagination and creativity. Have inked down for various magazines and websites and drew wide public attention with powerful and thought-provoking contents, Penchant for creative writing. Send me an e-mail at [email protected]
Leave a comment