Oscar 2022 Panel: Kajol, Suriya, Reema Kagti are only Indians among 397 New Members

Kajor, Suriya and Reema Kagti join Oscar Panel

On June 28, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences invited actress Kajol from Kuch Kuch Hota Hai and actor Suriya from Jai Bhim and Soorarai Pottru to serve on an Oscar panel with 397 other notable movie figures. They are one of 53 foreign guests who were invited.

According to reports, the 2022 invitees include 71 Oscar nominations and 15 winners. Out of these, 44% were women, and 37% were members of underrepresented groups.

Additionally the diversification initiative, which started in 2016, aimed to quadruple the participation of women and marginalised cultures by 2020. The number of members has surpassed 10,000 as a result of the new nominations.

Other Invitations and nominations from India

The documentary branch includes Ghosh and Thomas, whose film “Writing With Fire” received an Academy Award nomination for best documentary feature this year.

Reema Kagti, who is well-known for Hindi movies like “Talaash,” “Gully Boy,” and “Gold,” has been invited from the writers division. The directors branch has welcomed Nalin, who is well known for his films Samsara, Angry Indian Goddesses, and Last Film Show.

Aditya Sood, a producer, and the documentary filmmakers Sushmit Ghosh and Rintu Thomas are also on the list. Leonard Maltin, Anya Taylor-Joy, Billie Eilish, Jamie Dornan, Dana Walden, and other international celebrities have also been invited.

Suriya is the first South Indian actor who joins this list, Reema Kagti in category of writers and Kajol in Actors are 3 Indian among 397 New Members of The Academy.

According to the academy, the only new members of the Academy in 2022 will be those who accept the invites. There are 17 branches altogether, and 25 people were invited as members-at-large today.

Bollywood actor and producers who are already members

A R Rahman, who received an Oscar for his compositions, Amitabh Bachchan, Shah Rukh Khan, Vidya Balan, Aamir Khan, Salman Khan, and Ali Afzal, as well as the producers Aditya Chopra, Guneet Monga, Ekta Kapoor, and Shobha Kapoor, are all members of the Academy.

Ajay Devgn congratulated his wife through tweet

Congratulations was conveyed by Ajay Devgn to his wife, Bollywood star Kajol, and all other guests. He wrote on Twitter that he was overjoyed and immensely proud.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


To Top